skip navigation

New Officials Certification Format

06/20/2013, 8:30am CDT
By Admin

Hockey Manitoba To Launch "Hockey University"

Hockey Canada is set to launch Hockey University (HU) for 2013 – 2014, which has established an on-line
certification component for officials across the country. Hockey Manitoba is excited for this new initiative and
will be taking this opportunity to execute changes to our existing program.
Hockey Manitoba’s goal, with the implementation of HU, is to provide quality learning with a consistent
delivery message to service our 1800+ member officials. For this reason Hockey Manitoba is requiring ALL
Level I, II and new advancing Level III officials to complete the four (4) hour on-line component PRIOR TO
registering and attending a four (4) hour in-person clinic. The total length of the Level I, II and new Level
III clinics will remain eight (8) hours with 4 hours on-line through HU and 4 hours classroom which will
include a one hour ice session. New advancing Level III officials, who have completed the on-line
component, may attend any Level III clinic. Please note that in order to advance to from Level II to Level III
approval is required by your local RIC.
Once available, Hockey University – Officiating, will be accessible through official’s existing eHockey
accounts. The program, which consists of 12 modules, has been designed for the official to complete at their
convenience and may be revisited at anytime during the hockey season.
Hockey University - Officiating
Module 1 – Introduction and Welcome Module 7 – The Three Official System
Module 2 – Divisions of the Ice Module 8 – Penalty Procedures and Signals
Module 3 – Offside Module 9 – Working with Penalties
Module 4 – Face-Offs Module 10 – Conflict and Communication
Module 5 – Three Basic Positions Module 11 – Game Reports
Module 6 – The Two Official System Module 12 – What Makes a Good Official
145 Pacific Avenue
Winnipeg, MB
R3B 2Z6
Tel: 204-925-5755
Fax: 204-925-5761
In order to successfully implement HU into our current clinic format, the following will be strictly adhered to:
• The eHockey system will not allow officials to register for an in-person clinic who have not completed
the HU on-line component.
• Registration for ALL in-person clinics must be done online through user’s eHockey accounts.
• NO WALKUPS will be allowed to participate in clinics.
• Registrants must attend the clinic that they have registered on-line for. If they are unable to attend
their clinic they must transfer their registration to an alternate clinic (dependant on availability), they
may do so by contacting the Hockey Manitoba office. A $25.00 transfer charge will be applied
payable by credit card only.
• All on-line and in-person clinic registration fees are payable by credit card only, cheques/cash
will not be accepted. We suggest prepaid credit cards be used in the event that you do not have
access to a credit card.
Fee changes to note:
• The fee for individuals accessing the Officials section of HU is $23.00. (Hockey Canada $19.00,
Hockey Manitoba $4.00). Hockey Manitoba’s fee of $4.00 matches the lowest branch fee in the
country (average $10.00).
• Membership fees have increased by $3.25 for all Level I – VI officials as per the 2013-2014 Fee
Structure passed at the Hockey Manitoba 2013 Annual General Meeting in May.
• A $3.00 Facility Use Fee will be introduced across the province to assist host communities in offsetting
facility rental costs.
The launch date of Hockey University is still to be determined, but is expected in mid-late July. Once this
information is finalized it will be communicated to all officials via email and through our website. We would
encourage officials to visit our website periodically for updates.
Thank you.

Tag(s): News  TP Female Atom  U11 1st  U13 1st  U11 2nd  U13 2nd  U15 Rep  Wescana PeeWee (U13)  U13 1st  "AA" Ramblers  Thompson King Miners Atom AA  "AA" Kings  Flin Flon Bombers Atom AA  "A" Stampeders  OCN Blizzard  Thompson King Miners Atom A  B Bombers  U13 2nd  Cross Lake Islanders Atom A  ``B`` Division  ``A`` Division  Armstrong Memorial  OCN Blizzard  Cross Lake Islanders Atom A  Flin Flon Firemen  Flin Flon McKeen's  Flin Flon Reliance  B Bombers  Snow Lake & Gillam Chargers  Cross Lake AA  Swan River Colts  Swan River Mustangs  Swan River Broncos  The Pas Huskies Red  The Pas Huskies White  Thompson Canadiens  Thompson Wild  Thompson Flyers  Grub Box Atom (U11)  KIKIWAK Bantam (U15)  Cross Lake Islanders Atom A  Grand Plains  OCN Blizzard  "A" Stampeders  The Pas Huskies  Wescana Female  C pool  B pool  U11 2nd  OCN Blizzard  B Bombers  Snow Lake & Gillam Chargers  Thompson King Miners Atom A  Flin Flon Bombers Atom A  S.V. B Stampeders  Cross Lake AA  Thompson Carroll Aeros  U11 1st  "A" Stampeders  Flin Flon Bombers Atom AA  Thompson King Miners Atom AA  "AA" Kings  Lobby Display